top of page
Military Humvee

The Promise of Eternal Life



This mission that I started to be a Soldier for Christ has led me down a rollercoaster path of emotions. When it first started I was excited. As the mission wore on, I got tired and then frustrated, and then eventually, I let it go. It sat dormant for a long time.


Recently I have felt a call to pick it back up. My problem has been in what way. What does it look like now? Do I just repeat the same things I did before? Did that really help anyone?


Then at one point, I decided I was going to revamp the entire thing. I rebuilt the website from the ground up. I had the mind that I would start doing videos again. But nothing came to me.


So I started making short verse graphics to post. I did that for a few weeks but then my day job or other projects would fill my time and then when I did have time I would make excuses as to why I could not make more graphics.


Then I started to go down this trail of thinking that maybe I just had it all wrong. Maybe we are so far removed from the source that the word we know today has been diluted so much that we are just... off.


Throw in some social media videos that all seem to contradict each other and the hundreds of versions of the Bible, some of which have actually omitted verses and I was reeling. Is what I have been reading and studying all this time accurate? Am I actually doing, being, acting, as God would have me?


And then I get this in my inbox...


“Truly I tell you, anyone who hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not come under judgment but has passed from death to life.” John 5:24 CSB



This is perhaps one of the most well-known and beloved verses in the Bible. In it, Jesus makes a bold promise: that whoever hears His word and believes in the One who sent Him has eternal life.


It means that we do not have to earn our salvation through good works or religious rituals. Instead, we can receive it as a free gift by simply believing in Jesus.


It's more than just living forever in heaven. It means having a personal relationship with Jesus here, now.


It means experiencing His love, peace, and joy in our everyday lives.


So how do we get this love, peace, and joy?


Jesus tells us that it is through hearing His word and believing in the One who sent Him (God).


This means that we need to spend time reading the Bible and learning about Jesus. We also need to put our faith in Him and trust Him to save us from our sins.


If we do these things, Jesus promises that we will have eternal life. He also promises that we will not come into judgment, but have already passed from death to life.


No matter what our circumstances are, we can know that we have a bright and secure future in Jesus Christ.


Until next time...

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page